Go To Search
GovernmentCulture & RecreationResidentsBusinessHow Do I?
Click to Home
Local Government
Christiansburg operates under a Town Manager - Town Council form of government. Christiansburg Town Council is comprised of six voting members and a mayor who votes only in the event of a tie. Council members are elected to four-year terms, with three seats being open for election every two years. The mayor’s seat is filled every four years by general election and all members of council serve at-large.
Town Council 2016.jpg
Town Council
Christiansburg Town Council, in its legislative role, adopts resolutions and all ordinances and establishes the general policies of the town. The council also sets the real estate tax rate, approves and adopts the annual operating budget. Council is responsible for the appointment of Planning Commission members, who are appointed to four-year terms, as well as various other boards, commissions, and committees.

Christiansburg’s total annual budget for FY 2016-17 is approximately $48.2 million.

Town Manager
The council appoints a town manager to act as administrative head of the Town. The manager carries out policies established by council, directs business procedures, and has hiring and termination authority over all Town employees, except the chief of police, town clerk, treasurer, and town attorney, who are also appointed by the council. The town manager is responsible for preparing, submitting, and administering an annual operating budget, advising council on Town affairs, enforcing Town Code, and directing and supervising all town departments. 

Town departments include:
  • Aquatic Center
  • Office of Building Inspections
  • Engineering
  • Fire
  • Human Resources
  • Parks and Recreation
  • Police
  • Planning and Zoning
  • Public Relations
  • Public Works
  • Rescue
  • Treasury